Newbie Lessons Learned

• Author

I am new to off-roading in the desert. I got into this pastime only after I bought a lightly used 1998 Mercedes Gelandewagen G320 earlier this year mostly because it looked tough enough for Dubai speedbumps.

Watching youtubes about the Gelandewagen I realized what a formidable offroader it is and after restoring its difflock system with some new parts I signed up to Dubai Offroaders for a couple of drives and an overnight. My G Wagon has been a revelation off-road and is more capable than I ever expected.

That said, I have seen good drivers do amazing with average vehicles so although there are definitely some vehicles I would personally avoid I have learned enough already to respect the driver more than the vehicle. There are also amazing vehicles with amazing drivers who do things on the dunes I never imagined could be done!

Here’s what I have learned as a Newbie in the few drives I have completed with DO in 2018:

The GOOD! 😀 :
    • The drives are super fun and well organized. Marshals are there to assist with advice and importantly with extractions when vehicles get stuck.
    • Overnight camping trips are absolutely why you are doing this. A campfire in the evening desert chill with new friends (or old friends!) is way cooler than a restaurant dinner.
    • The desert itself; the shape, color and pattern of the dunes, the hardy shrubs and grasses, the tracks of foxes and antelope, the way the wind blows across a crest. Its quite magnificent.
    • Safety is taken seriously, which I am very happy about. Flags and radios are mandatory for a reason.
    • You will learn how to use your equipment…especially on modern vehicles the traction control on sand may be electronic; read the manual so you understand what is “normal”.
    • Deflating tires to 14psi or even lower (or as recommended for your vehicle) transforms the traction on sand. A pressure gage is vital equipment.