Should I buy FJ?? <<< HELP >>>>

• Author
    February 3, 2021 at 8:10 am #3563

Hi guys!

I’m a newbie and I want to buy a car for offroading mainly and to be able to sell it after one year for a reasonable price

I like Jeep but I can’t afford new one ‘:) , maybe I can afford 2013, however, it looks like I should be a close friend with my mechanic to survive 🙂

So I thought to go with FJ Cruiser 2008 or 2009, the price looks reasonable for my budget, hopefully less than 40K, but do you think it will be a good choice for me or I might face troubles since the car is 13 years old? any experience if there are common issues with FJ 2008/2009?

If you know a reliable mechanic to check the car for me before buying, that would be great!

Thanks for your help!
    Issam

February 3, 2021 at 11:13 am #44719

Toyota is always your best bet whether buying new or used. I think a 2008 or 2009 FJ is a really good choice. I personally have a 2008 FJ and it is the best vehicle I’ve owned for offroading. You will need a snorkel if it doesn’t have a snorkel when you buy it as it picks up sand and clogs the air filter; apart from that, you should be good.

Anonymous
    February 3, 2021 at 12:51 pm #44720

that sounds encouraging! thanks @Hamza Ahmad for your help

any workshop you trust to check the car before I buy it?

February 4, 2021 at 12:48 pm #44721

There are two trucks that are universally liked for dune bashing – Jeep Wranglers, and Toyota FJs and Fortuner (basically the same truck with a slightly different body style).

I have owned two FJs – rolled one in Sweihan doing an advanced drive right after a rain storm. The FJ saved me from any damage, but it was rolled 4 times down a bowl, and written off.

They are built TOUGH. Many trucks wouldn’t have survived that – we drove it out of the desert after we replaced a tire, and re-inflated another. AXA still wrote it off, it had significant body damage – but I was OK, just spitting sand.